Hindu Scripture

View Paper
Pages: 1
(approximately 235 words/page)

Essay Database > Literature > English
Hindu Scriptures are classified into: Shruti (meaning "heard"), Smriti (meaning "remembered"), and Nyaya (meaning "logic"). These classifications are based on the origin of the Scripture. Shruti scripture is thought of as something which was heard directly from God, while Smriti scripture refers to what was written down and remembered. Shruti is considered more authoritative since it was obtained straight from God. The Vedas are shruti. The rest of Hindu scripture is known as smriti, except …

showed first 75 words of 294 total
Sign up for EssayTask and enjoy a huge collection of student essays, term papers and research papers. Improve your grade with our unique database!
showed last 75 words of 294 total
…They are named Rig, Sama, Yajur, and Atharva. The Vedas consist of prayers to the One Divine and the divinities of nature; for example, the Sun, the Rain, the Wind, and the Fire. The Vedas also include prayers for matrimony, progeny (children), prosperity, concord, domestic rites, formulas for magic, and more. They deal with day-to-day necessities as well as spiritual realization. They are written in metrical verse, usually of three to four lines in length.