Bowl Championship Series (

View Paper
Pages: 2
(approximately 235 words/page)

Essay Database > Recreation & Sports
About the BCS Starting in 1998, the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) has determined the Division I-A National Champion in football. A year ago, Oklahoma captured the 2000 national title defeating Florida State 13-2 in the FedEx Orange Bowl. In the BCS' first season in 1998, Tennessee defeated Florida State, 23-16, in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl to claim the national title. A year later, it was Florida State's turn as the Seminoles topped Virginia Tech 46-29 in the Nokia …

showed first 75 words of 502 total
Sign up for EssayTask and enjoy a huge collection of student essays, term papers and research papers. Improve your grade with our unique database!
showed last 75 words of 502 total
…from outside the original BCS conferences -- ACC, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-10 or SEC -- those participants will receive $11.78 million. If one or both at-large selections come from within the original BCS group, the first conference participant shall receive $11.78 million and the second participant from that same conference shall receive $6 million. The remaining dollars (the difference between $11.78 million and $6 million) will be split among the originating BCS conferences that have just one participant.